LCS Teachers of the Year 2023-2024

Lowndes County Schools Names Larson District Teacher of the Year


Lowndes County Schools held Convocation, Monday, July 31, 2023. A particular highlight of this event was honoring and recognizing school-level Teachers of the Year naming the District Teacher of the Year. This year’s Teachers of the Year are: Dorothy McDougal, Clyattville Elementary School; Shaina Larson, Dewar Elementary School;Lauren Plair, Hahira Elementary School; Ashley Mays, Lake Park Elementary School; Lamar Williams, Moulton-Branch Elementary School; Ashleigh Johnson, Pine Grove Elementary School; Jennifer Swain, Westside Elementary School; Sabrina Baker, Hahira Middle School; Angelica Busby, Lowndes Middle School; Alison Hamel, Pine Grove Middle School; Taylor Wilkins, Parker Mathis Learning Center; and Heath Phelps, Lowndes High School.

The 2023-2024 Lowndes County Schools District Teacher of the Year is Shaina Larson, a fifth-grade Teacher at Dewar Elementary School.  Mrs. Larson stated,  "Effective educators build positive relationships with their students, but also with their students' families. It is imperative for students to recognize how the partnership between school and home works together toward a common goal - their success."

Each school winner submitted an application packet that mirrors the Georgia Teacher of the Year application, with 10 pages of narrative writing. These applications were reviewed by six local judges with the top five applications evaluated by five external judges. The five external judges each rated the applications based on a rubric used for the Georgia Teacher of the Year program.

Shaina Larson, the Lowndes County District Teacher of the Year, will go on to compete for the Georgia Teacher of the Year in December, with that winner being named in May 2024.


THANK YOU to the following sponsors who graciously supported all of our Teachers of the Year!

Big Nick's

The Boardwalk

Buff City Soap

Chick-fil-A - Lake Park

Chick-fil-A - North Valdosta

Chick-fil-A - St. Augustine Rd.


The Flower Gallery

Friend's Grille and Bar

Harmon's Awards

Jessie's Restaurant and Catering


Lowndes County Board of Commissioners

Madeline James Embroidery

Mary Kay Cosmetics (Sandra Griffin)

Melton Candle Company

Only Options

Pinstripes & Polka Dots

Pleats & Creases Cleaners

Rainwater Conference Center

Southeastern Credit Union

South Georgia Medical Center

South Georgia Pecan

Texas Roadhouse

The Old Butcher Shop

Valdosta Mainstreet
Valdosta North Rotary Club

Valdosta State University

Walter Hobbs Pottery

Wiregrass Technical College

Woodstack BBQ Tavern